Uplifting News and Stories Gleaned from the Web

MSNBC.com


Hero Pooch is Inducted into Hall of Fame
 
Fifteen-pound dog named Teddy Bear chases off armed intruder
The Associated Press

Updated: 7:04 a.m. CT Oct 9, 2006

BENTON, Ky. — A 15-pound pooch that fended off an intruder to defend its owner has earned a spot in the Kentucky Veterinary Medical Association’s Animal Hall of Fame.

Teddy Bear, a 4-year-old Pomeranian owned by Leslie Ferguson, 24, bit an armed robber in April and created enough of a distraction that Ferguson could escape to a neighbor’s house. The dog was inducted into the association’s Hall of Fame on Saturday.

"My husband was out of town," Ferguson said. "He was on active duty in the military, and I had a guy break into my house with a gun.

"He tried to force me into another room. We ended up wrestling for the gun, and Teddy bit him and latched onto his hand. I was able to get the gun from the guy. He ended up getting the gun back, but Teddy distracted him long enough where I could get out of the house."

Ferguson said Teddy Bear never hesitated, even though he had never been vicious toward anyone.

"I guess he realized that I was in danger, and he just took action," Ferguson said. "He did great."

"Teddy followed me and pretty much didn’t let me out of his sight until the next day," she said. "He still keeps a close eye on me."

© 2006 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

URL: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15194558/


© 2006 MSNBC.com

Leave a comment